During the summer of 1999, Macon singer/songwriter Brax Bragg was on the brink of something big. He had just recorded a CD with his new band the Buckleys, and they were scheduled to set out on tour. But before hitting the highway with his band, Brax took his baby brother Tate, an accomplished classical guitarist, on a cross-country road trip. While traveling through Texas on July 3, the brothers' lives were tragically cut short by a car accident.

Back in Macon, friends were reeling at the news of the brothers' tragic deaths. Russell Walker, a friend of the family and fellow musician, organized an impromptu jam session of local musicians to celebrate and honor the Bragg brothers' talented lives. The healing power of music began to perpetuate, and a year later, the jam session resumed. "Bragg Jam" had officially been born. By 2003, it was expanded into a city-wide music festival. Two years later, it was incorporated as a non-profit with a board of directors. Today, Bragg Jam has evolved into a full-scaled community arts festival and Macon's premier music event.

What began as an untimely tragedy has found a way to give back to the Macon community. Money raised from Bragg Jam is donated to Macon's Ocmulgee Heritage Trail and other local causes in Brax and Tate Bragg's honor.

17 years later, countless hours of time put in by all-volunteer board members has led to Bragg Jam becoming a major community event, cumulating in the Macon’s biggest night of music with a huge concert crawl on the last Saturday of July.

Today, Bragg Jam envelops the Moonlight Miles 5K, Arts & Kids Fest, Second Sunday, and the legendary Concert Crawl. The organization also gives an enormous amount of money (over $200,000 to date) to community causes that meant a lot to the Bragg boys, including the Ocmulgee Heritage Trail and Amerson River Park.

Board Members

Everett Verner


Koryn Young

Vice President and Special Events Chair

Scott Corkery

Treasurer and Arts & Kids Fest Chair

Leila Regan-Porter

Secretary and Marketing Co-Chair

Brandon Bish

Entertainment Chair

Chris Bryson

Volunteers and Ticketing Chair

Stephanie Howard

Marketing Co-Chair

Andy Moore

Patron Party Chair

Alex Morrison

Facilities and Vendor Chair

Mark Misinco

Website Chair

JR Olive

Second Sunday Chair

Meg Donahue

Marketing Co-Chair

Lauren Lin

Marketing Co-Chair

Erin Keller

Resource Development Co-Chair